top of page

A deodorant homemade in 5 minutes

Do you believe me if I told you there is a simple way to do your own deodorant in 5minutes ?OMG, NO WAY !!!!

Come on! I explain to you !

Photo Credits: Gabin Corredor

Firstly the composition of commerce deodorant :

  • Endocrine disruptors

  • Allergens

  • Alcohol, ethyl alcohol or ethanol wich can make the skin dry

  • Aluminum salts or aluminum hydrochloride which block the natural process of sweating and can be implicated in the development of breast cancer

  • butane, ethane, isopentane, pentane or propane : polluting substances, harmful to the body and to the environment

  • Paraben and methylparaben : likely to promote the development of cancer cells

  • And more…


Secondly the effectiveness: I have doubts about the commercial deodorant (which I have used for 28 years), I'm a sporty woman, I go for weeks trekking in total autonomy. I hike 30 kilometers per day and I need an effective deodorant, not heavy, that does'nt take up space in the backpack and if possible that it does'nt kill me or the environment.


And finally the price: from 1 up to 15 € I can't imagine what are the ingredients inside that make such a price difference^^


So, tested and approved by myself, I present to you THE HOMEMADE DEODORANT RECIPE :

  • 20 g of coco oil: fight against microbes responsible for bad perspiration odors

  • 2 g of beeswax (if you're vegan : candelilla wax or rice wax): hardening

  • 13 g of ultra fine bicarbonate (ultra fine for not irritaded the skin)

  • 13 g of cornstarch : absorbs moisture

  • 4 drops of palmarosa essential oil : Antibacterial and antifungal

  • 4 drops of tea tree essential oil : Sanitizing

  • 4 drops of lavander or lemon essential oil for the scent

  • 1 mini jar of jam

To start : boil the jar for 10 minutes to sterilize it and rince your utensils in hot water.

  • Melt wax and coconut oil

  • Mixed bicarbonate and cornstarch and add it to the melted wax and coconut oil

  • Add the essential oils

  • Fill the jar and put it in the fridge for a few hours

During summer the beeswax will keep the deodorant from getting creamy and keep it easy to apply:)

Now the price because as you must imagine the ingredients are bought unpackaged (exept essential oils of course)

  • Coco oil ==> 0,32€ (16,10€/L)

  • Beeswax ==> 0,08€ (39€/kg)

  • Ultra fine bicarbonate ==> 0,05€ (3,60€/kg)

  • Cornstarch ==> 0,05€ (3,72€/kg)

  • Palmarosa essential oil ==> 0,04€ (2,70€/10ml=250 drops)

  • Tea tree essential oil ==> 0,05€ (2,90€/10ml=250drops)

  • Lavander essential oil ==> 0,06 € (3,50€/10ml=250drops)

Total = 0,65€ oh ! I forgot ! This deodorant jar lasts up to 6 months !!! You're welcome;)

Links :



57 views14 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page