top of page

Remove makeup in a zero waste mood !

Updated: Jul 10, 2021


First, run away from makeup remover wipes, they are irritating, they don't wash correctly the skin and leave residues which will dry out the epidermis. In addition, wipes are expensive and I'm not even talking about the planet! Impossible to recycle, they are a disaster for the ecology!

About the Cotton pads, it's better for the skin but a disaster for the planet too! Cotton cultivation is one of the most polluting in the world with a consumption of 24% of pesticides produced worldwide and some of which are considered highly or extremely dangerous by the WHO! And it needs 5260 liters of water to produce one kilogram of cotton! OMG!!

And on the cotton pads we put a makeup remover or micellar water, a lot of things are hidden inside: Linalool, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Phenoxyethanol… difficult to understand these names that can hide allergenic products or endocrine disruptors.



My solution is very simple, very cheap and zero waste of course^^

Making homemade reusable cotton squares if you have some sewing knowledge. On the pictures you see below are the cottons I sewed myself, one side is made of organic cotton or bamboo and the other side is composed with some pretty fabrics. It's quite simple to make but you can also buy it on the internet (Manamani).


For the makeup remover, it's also simple: OIL! I use jojoba oil to remove my makeup, this oil helps regulate the sebum produced by the skin. I put hot water on my reusable pads and a little of jojoba oil and here we go! Even waterproof makeup can't resist! You can buy it in a glass bottle or in a store, unpacked with your own recipient (Aromazone store). Also, there is stores that propose returnable bottles for their beauty products (Cozie).

To wash the reusable pads, rub them with hot water and Marseille soap and it's done. Sometimes I put all my pads in the washing machine at 60°C with my bath towels for instance.


So now, no excuses to remove your makeup in an environmentally friendly and healthy way!



PS: You can use them for your baby's butt ;)



Links:




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page